Sina Schmidt (c) piemundi

Art direction & project management

Welcome to my website!

Here I present my artistic works and give a few insights into my background.

My story


Since my school days, I have been exploring the field of tension between music, theatre and philosophy, tirelessly discovering all that there is to do: From directing, dramaturgy, singing and performance to project management, production, press work, editing, ghostwriting and increasingly the artistic exploration of digital spaces. I prefer to work freelance, which is why I founded my theatre association Uniater in 2012 and in 2016 with like-minded people the theatre collective FRITZAHOI .

From the winter semester 2022 to the winter semester 2024, I was a research assistant in the Department of Music and Music Education at the University of Potsdam, as part of the interdisciplinary VReiraum Makerspace and, from July 2023, of the joint project DigiProSMK, where I am allowed to conduct theoretical and practical research on new technologies. Since February 2023, I am also responsible for the project coordination of the Smart Theatre Services for Deutscher Bühnenverein as part of the federal project Data Space Culture.

My latest artistic work is the audio walk "As Time Flows By", which I developed together with Phillip Feneberg and was able to show at the Intersonanzen Festival Potsdam as well as at the Cosmopolis Festival in Kavala, Greece. From 19-22 November, I was invited to give a workshop on onboarding in VR at GEM 2023 together with Henrike Janssen in Barbados and a workshop on the discrimination-sensitive design of digital educational offerings at the 40th GMK Forum for Communication Culture. From October 17-19, 2024, we will present our VR onboarding concept at the WAAE Summit in Athens.

PhotoCredit (c) piemundi

My skills

Analytical and creative thinking, structure and humour, spontaneity and continuity, curiosity and intuition are probably the qualities that describe me best. I love getting new input, facing new challenges and inspiring people.

PhotoCredit (c) piemundi

What I say to others about my work

Sina graduated from the music department of the Landesschule Pforta. After studying German literature, philosophy and musicology in Dresden and Potsdam, she worked as an assistant director and dramaturge, among others for the Hans Otto Theater Potsdam, the Schaubühne Berlin, the Hebbel am Ufer Theater Berlin, for the film production Reise nach Jerusalem (dir.: Lucia Chiarla) and most recently for the baroque operas L'Europa (R.: Deda C. Colonna, D.: Thomas Höft, M.: Michael Hell) and Pastorelle en musique (R.: Nils Niemann, M: Dorothee Oberlinger), which were produced in the context of the Musikfestspiele Potsdam Sanssouci 2018 and 2020 in cooperation of the Musikfestspiele with Musica Bayreuth, the Innsbrucker Westwochen and the Telemann Festtage. She has been producing her own directorial works in Berlin and Potsdam since 2012.

In addition to her artistic work, Sina also pursues a strong theoretical and practical research interest in subjects related to the digital transformation.  She gives workshops, is a speaker at various events, such as the working group meeting of the Young Ears Network or Barcamp digital of the StMWK Bavaria, and advises cultural institutions such as the KulturMachtPotsdam network, the Kammerakademie Potsdam or the Brandenburg Association for New Music on questions of digital transformation.


PhotoCredit (c) piemundi

Sina Schmidt (c) piemundi

Regie & Projektleitung

Herzlich willkommen auf meiner Website!

Hier stelle ich meine künstlerischen Arbeiten vor und gebe ein paar Einblicke in meinen Werdegang.

Meine Geschichte

Seit meiner Schulzeit bewege ich mich im Spannungsfeld zwischen Musik, Theater und Philosophie und ergründe unermüdlich, was es hier alles zu tun gibt: Von Regie, Dramaturgie, Gesang, Performance über Projektmanagement, Produktion, Pressearbeit, Lektorat hin zu Ghostwriting und zusehends verstärkt zur künstlerischen Erforschung digitaler Räume.  Am liebsten arbeite ich freiberuflich, weswegen ich 2012 meinen Theaterverein Uniater und 2016 mit Gleichgesinnten das Theaterkollektiv FRITZAHOI gegründet habe.

Vom Wintersemester 2022 bis zum Wintersemester 2024 war ich als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Fachbereich Musik und Musikpädagogik der Universität Potsdam Teil des interdisziplinären VReiraum Makerspace bzw. ab Juli 2023 des Verbundprojektes DigiProSMK, wo ich theoretisch und praktisch zu neuen Technologien geforscht habe. Seit Februar 2023 übernehme ich für den Deutschen Bühnenverein die Projektkoordination der Smarten Theaterdienste im Rahmen des Bundesprojektes Datenraum Kultur.

Meine letzte künstlerische Arbeit ist der Audiowalk  "As Time Flows By", den ich gemeinsam mit Phillip Feneberg entwickelt habe, und beim Intersonanzen Festival Potsdam sowie beim Cosmopolis Festival in Kavala, Griechenland zeigen konnte. Vom 19.-22. November durfte ich auf der GEM 2023 gemeinsam mit Henrike Janssen auf Barbados einen Workshop zum Thema Onboarding in VR und online beim 40. GMK-Forum für Kommunikationskultur einen Workshop über die diskriminierungssensible Gestaltung von digitalen Bildungsangeboten geben. Vom 17.-19. Oktober 2024 präsentieren wir uns VR-Onbording-Konzept beim WAAE Summit in Athen.

FotoCredit (c) piemundi

Meine Stärken

Analytisches und kreatives Denken, Struktur und Humor, Spontanität und Kontinuität, Neugier und Intuition sind vielleicht die Eigenschaften, die mich am besten beschreiben. Ich liebe es, neuen Input zu bekommen, mich neuen Herausforderungen zu stellen und Menschen zu inspirieren.

FotoCredit (c) piemundi

Was ich zu anderen über meine Arbeit sage

Sina besuchte den Musikzweig der Landesschule Pforta und arbeitete nach einem Germanistik-, Philosophie- und Musikstudium in Dresden und Potsdam als Regie- und Dramaturgieassistentin, u. a. für das Hans Otto Theater Potsdam, die Schaubühne Berlin, das Hebbel am Ufer Theater Berlin, für die Filmproduktion Reise nach Jerusalem (R.: Lucia Chiarla) und zuletzt für die Barockopern L’Europa (R.: Deda C. Colonna, D.: Thomas Höft, M.: Michael Hell) und Pastorelle en musique (R.: Nils Niemann, M: Dorothee Oberlinger), die im Rahmen der Musikfestspiele Potsdam Sanssouci 2018 und 2020 in Kooperation der Musikfestspiele mit Musica Bayreuth, den Innsbrucker Festwochen für Alte Musik und den Telemann Festtagen entstanden. Ihre eigenen Regiearbeiten verwirklicht sie seit 2012 in Berlin und Potsdam. 

Neben ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit verfolgt Sina auch ein ausgeprägtes theoretisches und praktisches Forschungsinteresse an Themen rund um den digitalen Wandel.  So gibt sie Workshops, spricht als Speakerin bei diversen Veranstaltungen, wie dem Arbeitskreistreffen des Netzwerk Junge Ohren oder Barcamp digital des StMWK Bayern, berät Kulturinstitutionen wie das Netzwerk KulturMachtPotsdam, die Kammerakademie Potsdam oder den Brandenburgischen Verband für Neue Musik zu Fragen des digitalen Wandels.

FotoCredit (c) piemundi